The Kaigle Law Firm Arrested? Contact Us Now!

Contact Us Now For Free Consultation!

Fields marked with * are required


In Florida, the crime of Carrying a Concealed Weapon is committed when a person carries a weapon or electric weapon on their person and such weapon is concealed.

Penalties for a Carrying a Concealed Weapon Charge

Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Florida is classified as a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to:
  1. One year in the county jail;
  2. One year of supervised probation;
  3. A $1,000 fine

Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Florida is classified as a third degree felony if the weapon is a firearm.

A third degree felony in Florida is punishable by up to:
  1. Five years in state prison;
  2. Five years of supervised probation;
  3. A $5,000 fine

Defenses to a Carrying a Concealed Weapon Charge

In addition to factual defenses that would be raised at trial to show reasonable doubt as to the crime alleged, some common defenses to a Carrying a Concealed Weapon charge in Florida include:

You had a license to carry a concealed weapon in Florida
Florida issues licenses for individuals to conceal carry weapons including firearms. If you have such a license, you will have a complete defense to a Carrying a Concealed Weapon charge in Florida.

You were carrying chemical or pepper spray or a non-lethal stun gun
Florida’s Carrying a Concealed Weapon statute specifically exempts certain types of weapons and allows people to carry, in a concealed manner, chemical spray or a non-lethal stun gun for self-defense purposes.

Contact Orlando Criminal Defense Attorney Chris Kaigle if you’ve been charged with Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Florida!
(407) 545-6416